A Simple Guide to Missouri’s Car Accident Laws

By | January 21, 2023

Table of Contents

Car accidents can be a traumatic and overwhelming experience, especially if you are unsure of your rights and responsibilities under Missouri’s car accident laws. In this guide, we will provide a comprehensive overview of the key laws and regulations that govern car accidents in the state of Missouri.

Liability and Fault

Missouri is an “at-fault” state when it comes to car accidents. This means that the driver who caused the accident is responsible for any damages or injuries that result from the crash. However, Missouri also follows a modified comparative fault rule, which means that a driver can still recover damages even if they are found to be partially at fault for the accident.

In order to determine fault, the insurance company will investigate the accident and may consider factors such as witness statements, police reports, and any available evidence such as skid marks or damage to the vehicles.

In Missouri, if the driver at fault does not have liability insurance, the victim may be able to recover damages from their own insurance company through their uninsured motorist coverage.

Statute of Limitations

In Missouri, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim related to a car accident is five years from the date of the accident. This means that if you were involved in a car accident and wish to file a claim for damages, you must do so within five years of the date of the accident. If you do not file a claim within this time frame, you may be barred from recovering any damages.

Insurance Requirements

In Missouri, drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. The minimum liability coverage required is $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $10,000 per accident for property damage.

In addition to liability insurance, Missouri also requires drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage with minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This coverage will provide protection in the event that you are involved in an accident with a driver who does not have liability insurance.

No-Fault Insurance

Missouri is not a no-fault state, meaning that drivers are not required to carry no-fault insurance. This means that if you are involved in an accident, you will need to file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company in order to recover damages.

PIP (Personal Injury Protection) is not mandatory in Missouri, it is optional coverage, which will cover medical expenses and lost wages in the event of an accident.

Damages Available

If you are involved in a car accident in Missouri, you may be able to recover damages for a variety of losses, including:

  • Medical expenses: You can recover the costs of any medical treatment you received as a result of the accident, including hospital stays, surgeries, and physical therapy.
  • Lost wages: If you were unable to work as a result of your injuries, you may be able to recover the wages you lost during your recovery period.
  • Pain and suffering: You may be able to recover damages for the physical and emotional pain and suffering you experienced as a result of the accident.
  • Property damage: If your vehicle or personal property was damaged in the accident, you may be able to recover the cost of repairs or replacement.

It’s important to note that Missouri has a cap on noneconomic damages, they are limited to $400,000 per person and $700,000 per accident.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *